DNC donkey logo
Pickens County Democratic Committee
Pickens County, Georgia
 
Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Information Soures
Georgia Dept.
of
Public Health
Covid-19
Status Report
CDC logo WHO logo

Monthly child tax credit payments start hitting bank accounts this week. Here’s what you need to know if you’re eligible. Most child tax credit payments will be deposited electronically until the end of the year. This is the IRS schedule.

 
    Pickens County Democrats
Democratic Party of Georgia
Young Democrats of Georgia
    Young Democrats of North Georgia (Instagram)
 
    9th District Democrats
 
What's New Inside?
 
Meetings and Events
See also

Dates in this color are from the Georgia Secretary of State's 2022 election calendar.

Dates in a box are activities of the Pickens County Democratic Committee.

 
 
Tuesday, August 17, 2021, 6:00 p.m. - CANCELED! Pickens County Democratic Committee. Social gathering instead of a business meeting. Location TBA.

Tuesday, September 21, 2021, 7:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee monthly meeting.

Tuesday, October 19, 2021, 6:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee. Social gathering instead of a business meeting. Location TBA.

Tuesday, November 16, 2021, 7:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee monthly meeting.

Tuesday, December 21, 2021, 6:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee. Social gathering instead of a business meeting. Location TBA.

Tuesday, January 18, 2022, 7:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee monthly meeting.

Tuesday, February 1, 2022 - Last day to fix and publish qualifying fees for offices to be filled during the 2022 Election Cycle

Tuesday, February 15, 2021, 6:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee. Social gathering instead of a business meeting. Location TBA.

Tuesday, March 7, 2022 - Earliest day to apply for an absentee ballot for the May General Primary Election (Note 1 below)

Tuesday, March 7, 2022, 9:00 a.m. - Earliest day to qualify for Primary/Nonpartisan and Independent/Political Body Candidates for November General Election

Friday, March 11, 2022, 12:00 noon - Last day to qualify for Primary/Nonpartisan and Independent/Political Body Candidates for November General Election

Tuesday, March 15, 2022, 7:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee monthly meeting.

Tuesday, April 5, 2022 - Earliest day for a registrar to mail an absentee ballot for the General Primary/Non-Partisan/Special Election

Tuesday, April 19, 2021, 6:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee. Social gathering instead of a business meeting. Location TBA.

Monday, April 25, 2022 - Last day for a person to register and be eligible to vote in the General Primary/Non-Partisan/Special Election and Runoff Election

Monday, May 2, 2022 - Advanced (Absentee In-Person) Voting begins for the General Primary/Non-Partisan/Special Election

Saturday, May 7, 2022 - Mandatory Saturday Voting for the General Primary/Non-Partisan/Special Election

Friday, May 13, 2022 - Last day to submit absentee ballot application for the May General Primary Election

Saturday, May 14, 2022 - Mandatory Saturday Voting for the General Primary/Non-Partisan/Special Election

Tuesday, May 17, 2022, 7:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee monthly meeting.

Tuesday, May 24, 2022 - Georgia General Primary

Tuesday, June 21, 2021, 6:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee. Social gathering instead of a business meeting. Location TBA.

Tuesday, July 19, 2022, 7:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee monthly meeting.

Tuesday, August 16, 2021, 6:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee. Social gathering instead of a business meeting. Location TBA.

Monday, August 22, 2022 - Earliest day to apply for an absentee ballot for November General Election (Note 1 below)

Tuesday, September 20, 2022 - Earliest day for a registrar to mail an absentee ballot for the November General/Special Election

Tuesday, September 20, 2022, 7:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee monthly meeting.

Monday, October 10, 2022 - Last day for a person to register and be eligible to vote in the November General Election and Runoff Election

Monday, October 17, 2022 - Advanced (Absentee In-Person) Voting begins for the November General Election. (Note 2 below)

Tuesday, October 18, 2021, 6:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee. Social gathering instead of a business meeting. Location TBA.

Saturday, October 22, 2022 - Mandatory Saturday Voting for the November General Election

Friday, October 28, 2022 - Last day to submit absentee ballot application for the November General Election

Saturday, October 29, 2022 - Mandatory Saturday Voting for the November General Election

Tuesday, November 8, 2022 - Georgia General Election (Note 2 below) (Note 3 below)

Tuesday, November 15, 2022, 7:00 p.m. - Pickens County Democratic Committee monthly meeting.

Note 1: To request a ballot, you'll need to include your driver's license number, state ID number or, if you don't have those, a copy of acceptable voter ID. Revises OCGA §21-2-381, S.B. 202 §25(a)(1)(C). Date of birth (DOB) also required. Counties cannot mail out ballots until 4 weeks before the election (previously 7 weeks). Revises OCGA §21-2-384, S.B. 202 §27(a)(2).

Note 2: IF YOU ATTEMPT TO VOTE IN THE WRONG PRECINCT on Election Day, S.B. 202 provides that out-of-precinct provisional ballots will not count unless cast after 5 pm and voter signs a statement saying they cannot make it to correct precinct in time. Revises OCGA §21-2-418, S.B. 202 §34. If you vote early ("Advanced (Absentee In-Person) Voting"), this will not be an issue!

Note 3: S.B. 202 provides that

Previously, Makeup of the State Election Board is controlled by the Republicans in the General Assembly. Clearly, they hope that the large counties that vote Democratic will be unable to complete their counts in the 22 hours between polls closing at 7:00 p.m. on Election Day and 5:00 p.m. the next day. If the counties fail to do this (or some other "irregularities" are alleged?), the State Election Board then can fire the Boards of Elections and the election supervisors in those counties and substitute their own man to certify the counts—to whose advantage, do you suppose?